New EO builds "virtual wall" for some refugees

Immigration News 
  • Photo credit: The Atlantic

On Tuesday, October 24, 2017, a new Executive Order was issued that expands the already thorough vetting process for refugees from 11 countries: Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. In addition, new vetting procedures will be developed for derivative refugees, or those who are admitted and join family members already in the United States. These changes, while not formally a ban, effectively slow the resettlement process for refugees from these countries to a near halt.

You can read more on this new order in The Atlantic.

We are following this development closely and will share additional information as it becomes available.